A Clockwork Vampire, the dead tree edition, or, how I had fun (ha!) on my summer vacation

So the dog days days of summer are over and it’s getting cool here in the mountains—though, at the moment, you wouldn’t believe that. It’s hot as hell here, and the trees are still radioactive green. Yes, the green in the high mountains of PA can be so intense it looks like Hulk skin. Useless tangent, but there you have it.

Two days ago, at the tail end of my summer vacation (which is funny, because it was summer but I never get a vacation) I was stripping old wallpaper from my living room in preparation for a new paint job when I nicked the wall with my scraper. A small nick, maybe less than a quarter of an inch. Within two minutes, approximately fifty yellowjackets found their way into the room, and none of them were happy with me. I was stung three times (once in my scalp) and my mom twice before we managed to herd them outside and smoosh the remaining sentinels.

It was like insectoid Spartacus, and I could well imagine the lead yellowjacket in battle armor and scruffy beard screaming “This is Pennsylvaaaaaniaaaaa!” as he led his loyal troops into battle. I’m weird that way.

Suffice to say, a suckass day. Thankfully, neither my mom nor myself are allergic to insect stings, so we’re OK. Now we need to figure out what to do about the big-ass nest residing in our walls just behind the A/C. But the nice thing is that night I got my first UPS shipment of A Clockwork Vampire from the printers, so all’s right in the world.

They are absolutely gorgeous. 8.5 x 5.5 trade size, with matte finish. 254 pages. And the book has a limited return policy, so expect to see it cropping up in select shops. Or just order yours online:

Amazon – a href=http://www.amazon.com/Clockwork-Vampire-Mrs-McGillicuddy-Mystery/dp/0982676131/

Barnes & Noble (Introductory Price is $9.15 – Save 29%) – http://search.barnesandnoble.com/A-Clockwork-Vampire/K-H-Koehler/e/9780982676134/

Or direct/signed – http://www.khkoehler.com/about/a-clockwork-vampire-mrs-mcgillicuddy-1-by-k-h-koehler/

The awesomeness thing evah is that within half a day, the whole Amazon US stock was sold out and is now temporarily out of stock. Not to worry, they’ll get more copies in. Or, if you can’t wait, you can always buy direct.

Copies are on their way to the UK, but will take a few more days to arrive. Sorry about that, Brits!

The book will be featured at various Halloween and paranormal review sites throughout the month of October, and I’ll be signing copies at the Wilkes-Barre signing and meetup as well on October 8th.

I totally understand if readers are hesitant at first because the book has some romantic elements, though I promise there’s plenty of gore, zombies, and horror to satisfy my longtime readers. I just balanced it out with plenty of sex, lol—straight, bi, and otherwise. 😉

Hardcopy books are available to reviewers. Feel free to request a book if you have a contest planned in the future and wouldn’t mind featuring the book on your site or blog. If you run a book shop of some kind, I can offer professional discounts and return policies. Interested parties can contact me for details on all that.

Don’t be dissuaded by the fact I did this myself. I had a lot of help. Author Ron Dee (Shade and Dusk) did my edit, author Michele Lee (Wolf Heart, Rot) acted as my beta reader, and photographer Paulo Medeiros did the cover. I owe them all a debt of gratitude.

Now I’m gonna go off and put more lotion on these bites.

Shout it Out!

