Google Minus

This is just to inform everyone who’s interested that I dropped my Google+ account. No reason, except I really just don’t have the time available to spread myself out over social networks anymore. Too many covers to do, too many clients to attend to, too many books to write, and too much work at KHP to handle. I’ll also be writing for a monthly column soon, details forthcoming. And when it comes right down to it, I really want to use my free/fun time getting a new book done for you folks. I mean, I like LOL cat pics and all that, but I’m finding myself rather too bogged down of late and it’s a point of contention with me that I get my work assignments done on time.

But I’m hardly a hermit, and I’m definitely not hiding. I’m still available at Twitter and Facebook (which has failed to upgrade for me for some odd reason, but I’m fine with that, as the new FB is fugly as hell and ridiculously complex-looking). I also have an account at Youtube and 8Tracks, but I only use them to upload promotional material of interest. I don’t generally interact with the communities. Of course, this site has no intention of going anywhere. My old DeivantArt account remains, but I’m only keeping that around as a means to communicate with other artists who offer stock images for sale or trade, so if you need to contact me for any reason, your best bet is directly here. Anything else, and you might be waiting a bit. It’s not unusual for me to get so distracted I may go days or even weeks without checking an old account somewhere.

Please be aware that I do NOT have accounts at any other social networking sites—Myspace, Goodreads, etc. There really is no reason why I can’t do here what I would be doing there, so I think this keeps things neater and simpler for me.

I do think it’s possible for writers to get very caught up in social networking beyond just keeping in touch with readers, fans and other writers. Writers are, by their very nature, semi-celebrities, so the desire to connect and stay connected and “on center stage” can be incredibly powerful. But the truth is, we’re no different than anyone else, and we struggle and speak like everyone else. The difference is we design our careers around speaking. But I often see writers overwhelmed by the sheer weight and power of the internet, and so caught up in social awareness issues and “speaking online” that they can lose focus on their first job, which is to react, write down that reaction, and deliver it to the masses, whether sad, funny or cathartic. My belief is that, with a little work, a writer can balance both ends.

I won’t be far. And I’ll see you online.

Shout it Out!

