Hospital Stay

So I figured I’d update everyone on everything that’s been happening to me over the past few days.

A little over a week ago I began getting severe pain and inflammation in the right leg, reaching from ankle to pretty much all the way up to my thigh. I spent a miserable weekend trying to get the inflammation down with NSAIDS and cold compresses. Then, on Monday, I went to see my family doctor. He didn’t think it was anything more serious than some edema due to my hypertension, which I’ve had in the past, but he still scheduled a doppler for Wednesday of this week.

The doppler showed I had a blood clot in my right leg just behind my knee–which is junk, by the way, due to years of degenerative arthritis. So I spent most of Wednesday in the Emergency Room, getting all kinds of tests done. A CAT scan showed that the big clot had broken off and deposited little clots in both of my lungs, which would explain my recent shortness of breath when I exert myself. I had never experienced anything like that before in my life.

The doctors and nurses also said I looked amazingly well, considering the results of my scan, and they couldn’t understand why I was breathing so well. They think I’m scary-resilient, lol.

So I spent Thursday to Saturday in the hospital, getting shots of Coumadin, a blood thinner, injected into my belly, plus oral pills. I was allowed to go home, finally, on Saturday afternoon, and I’ve since been getting more shots and more pills to hopefully break up and dissolve all the clots. The whole procedure will take 1-4 months, I’m told.

I’m also being tested for various blood disorders, including hereditary factors, lupus, and others, and I should know why this is happening within the next couple of weeks, so fingers crossed it’s nothing too scary.

Thanks to everyone who kept me company online over the past few days. And I’ll be back to work in no time, so no worries on various cover and editing projects, as well as my ongoing Anti-Heroes series.

I’m very tired and resting now. I’ll post more when I know more. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Hospital Stay

  1. Pingback: The Return of Nickolaus Pacione | Lepplady

Shout it Out!

