Test Results

I have good news. My blood profile came back, and to quote House (and Sighlon), it’s not lupus. I have a genetic protein deficiency that’s causing the clotting, not related to anything in my lifestyle or anything I could ever do about it–good, in a way, because it’s not me, bad because it reminds me of how we often exists at the full mercy of our genetic codes. Even my arthritis is not to blame.

But anyway, other than needing to be on blood thinners for the rest of my life, there is no treatment, nor any cure. It’s just something I have to live with. But the upside is, it’s not uncommon or life-threatening, so long as it’s controlled with medication.

Thank you, everyone, for standing by me and wishing me well, both in the hospital and after it. I can’t tell you what that means to me.

Shout it Out!

